THE WORLD OF ENGLISH Thursday, 02.05.2024, 23:33
Welcome Guest | RSS
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
Forum moderator: Teacher  
Forum » MISCELLANEOUS - LIFE AS IT IS » Faith Matters » Russia plans to teach Orthodox `culture' in public schools
Russia plans to teach Orthodox `culture' in public schools
TeacherDate: Tuesday, 26.01.2010, 10:45 | Message # 16
Head teacher
Group: Admins
Awards: 0
MissJane, you know, this theme made me think about my faith. To my mind I should think over the things I believe in...

In Vino Veritas...

Former-TeacherDate: Tuesday, 26.01.2010, 13:21 | Message # 17
Dean
Awards: 2
As a teacher I am happy to see that my students take an interest in riligious matters. I once again want to say that this is an entirely private affair to believe or not to believe. What I wanted to bring home to you is one thing - faith is based on love. Love in Christianity is the core paradigm of earthly living. God is love. Love not for the sake of love itself, but for the sake of searching for love to God. No matter what happens in life, this remains a guiding truth. To attain this truth of love of living, we ought to follow God's commanments. These are human rules. When we violate these rules, we start searching for reasons why things have turned bad. Man's destiny belongs to God's will. But God never harness our will or restrict our freedom. But God shows (read the Bible) what is to happen if his will is violated. Then God is heavenly energy. Earth and human beings on it are the recepients of this energy. When we violate God's will, we cut off the energy of the Heaven.

AyayuliaDate: Wednesday, 10.03.2010, 13:03 | Message # 18
Union organizer
Group: Friends
Teacher, very deep thoughts, I agree with them. By the way, we spoke about new subject in the school, not about religion in general. So, to my mind it will be better to name the subject sort of history or include the subject in the course of history. As for me, I support the idea.